Links

Quick links to key festivals, events, groups and organisations

Dumfries and Galloway offers huge amounts to do and see, plus lots of great creative organisations and projects. This section provides links to lots of places where you can find out more. Please let us know if there is a link you think should be added.

 

A-mysterious-character-called-The-Archivist-travelled-the-region-with-a-case-full-of-artistic-curiosities.-By-Kim-Ayres

 

See, do, enjoy – some larger festivals and events

Big Burns Supper – Dumfries – http://www.bigburnssupper.com/

D&G Arts Festival – Dumfries (event region wide) –http://www.dgartsfestival.org.uk/

Eden Festival – Moffat – http://www.edenfestival.co.uk/

Environmental Arts Festival Scotland – Region wide – http://www.environmentalartfestivalscotland.com/

Galloway Country Fair – Thornhill – http://www.drumlanrigcastle.co.uk/news/foodie-heaven-at-2015-galloway-country-fair/

Kirkcudbright Arts and Crafts Trail – follow on Facebook or at www.artandcraftstrail.co.uk

Kirkcudbright festivals – Kirkcudbright –http://www.kirkcudbright.co.uk/eventcalendar.asp

Lockerbie Jazz Festival – Lockerbie – http://www.lockerbiejazz.com/

Moniaive Folk Festival – Moniaive – http://www.moniaivefolkfestival.co.uk/

Moniaive and Glencairn – 2015 Creative Place Award recipient – www.moniaivefestivalvillage.org.uk

Spring Fling – Dumfries (event region-wide) – http://www.spring-fling.co.uk/

Wickerman Festival – Dundrennan – http://www.thewickermanfestival.co.uk/

Wigtown Book Festival Co – Wigtown – http://www.wigtownbookfestival.com/

The World Ceilidh – Knockengorroch – http://www.knockengorroch.org.uk/

Youthbeatz – Dumfries – http://www.youthbeatz.co.uk/

 

Find out more – arts websites

The Gist – http://thegist.ning.com/

 

Where it’s at – venues and centres

A’ the Airts – Sanquhar – http://www.all-the-airts.com/

The Bakehouse – Gatehouse of Fleet – http://www.thebakehouse.info/

Brig End Theatre – Dumfries – http://www.dumfriesmtc.co.uk/The_theatre.htm

Buccleuch Centre – Langholm – http://www.buccleuchcentre.com/

Castle Douglas Arts Gallery – Castle Douglas –http://www.dumgal.gov.uk/index.aspx?articleid=3617

The Catstrand – New Galloway – http://www.catstrand.com/

DG One – Dumfries – http://www.dgone.co.uk/

Easterbrook Hall and Crichton Church – Dumfries –http://www.easterbrookhall.co.uk/

Fullerton Theatre – Castle Douglas – http://www.lochsidetheatre.co.uk/

Gracefield Arts Centre – Dumfries –  http://www.dumgal.gov.uk/gracefield and http://www.exploreart.co.uk

Greyfriars Church – Dumfries

Lockerbie Little Theatre – Lockerbie – http://www.list.co.uk/place/30317-lockerbie-little-theatre/

Margaret Morris Movement Scotland – margaretmorrismovement.com/

Mill on the Fleet – Gatehouse of Fleet – http://www.millonthefleet.co.uk/

Swallow Theatre – Whithorn – http://www.swallowtheatre.com/

The Old Well Theatre – Moffat – http://www.oldwelltheatre.co.uk/

Oasis Youth Centre – Dumfries – http://www.dumgal.gov.uk/index.aspx?articleid=3514

Robert Burns Centre – Dumfries – http://www.dumgal.gov.uk/index.aspx?articleid=3629 or http://www.rbcft.co.uk

Theatre Royal – Dumfries – http://www.theatreroyaldumfries.co.uk/

Tolbooth Arts Centre – Kirkcudbright – http://www.dumgal.gov.uk/index.aspx?articleid=3639

Ryan Centre – Stranraer – http://www.dumgal.gov.uk/index.aspx?articleid=10286

 

Organisations and projects

Creative Places – Wigtown/Creetown –http://www.creativescotland.co.uk/explore/projects/creative-place-awards

Creetown Initiative – Creetown – http://www.localpeopleleading.co.uk/on-the-ground/anchor-orgs/2768/

Dance Galloway (regional dance and movement practitioners’ network) – dancegalloway.org

Electric Theatre – Dumfries – http://electrictheatreworkshop.com/

Oceanallover – Auchencairn – http://www.oceanallover.co.uk/

Peter Pan Moat Brae Trust – Dumfries – http://peterpanmoatbrae.org/

Solway Sinfonia – Region wide –http://www.solwaysinfonia.org.uk/contents.htm

Star of Caledonian – Gretna – http://www.wide-open.net/28

The Stove – Dumfries – http://www.thestove.org/

Stranraer Music Town – Stranraer – http://www.stranraermusictown.org.uk/

WASPS Artists’ Studios – Kirkcudbright – http://www.waspsstudios.org.uk/

Whithorn Trust and Visitor Centre –Whithorn –http://www.whithorn.com/whithorn-visitor-centre.htm

Wide Open – Dumfries – http://www.wide-open.net/